“I Know the Pieces Fit” // Tool: For the Fans – Pt. I

Tool - Band
Left to Right: Danny Carey, Justin Chancellor, Adam Jones, Maynard Keenan

It’s near impossible to argue that Tool is one of the most inspirational bands in the rock/metal genres, and in all music for that matter. The band undoubtedly has one of the strongest fan bases in the industry and just have a knack for writing songs that never get old. You can dissect just about any Tool song from front to back and never feel an inkling of boredom or a lack of satisfaction. This post is 100% dedicated to the geniuses (in Tool) who have altered the standards in music we know today and have challenged listeners from all around to open their minds to art and sound on a whole new level. I will be diving deeper into my thoughts about the band… Analyzing which songs are my favorite, least favorite, etc.

Now, in order to read through this post, YOU MUST READ WHAT I AM ABOUT TO SAY. This are merely my OPINIONS. In no way will I be stating, “This is the best Tool song” or “This is the worst Tool song,” and so on and so on… Again, these are my OPINIONS, and everyone is entitled to a different opinion. What I hope is that everyone is willing to read through my opinions knowing we have the same respect for such an incredibly talented and monumental band, and simply to agree to disagree. Know that if you have a different view on the music, I respect your thoughts 100%. My favorite song might be your least favorite, and vice-versa. There aren’t always right or wrong answers, especially in music. What I would love is if anyone who comes across this would feel free to leave their own thoughts in the comments section. I love discussing music (hence the site title, YOURMUSICDISCUSSION).

Next thing to keep in mind, everything I am writing underneath is meant merely for an article and as a way to start discussion. It is practically impossible for me to pick “favorites” when discussing Tool, or any band. In my honest opinion, if it is to pick out favorite songs by a band, that band probably isn’t worth listening to. So think of these thoughts this way… I have a gun pointed to my head. I am told, “If you do not tell us your favorite … of Tool, you will be shot and killed.” Does that make sense? The word “favorite” means only if I absolutely had to decide. Okay. Here we go.

Before leaving a judgmental comment about these, READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE.

Best Songs: Pushit, Vicarious, Lateralus, Intolerance

– One from each album. I’m just now deciding to make an “Honorable Mention” section so I can include more songs. As far as these four go, it’s just as I said. If I were at gunpoint and had to list my favorite Tool songs off each album, there they are. Many come in very very close second.

Honorable Mention (Songs): Forty-Six & 2, Stinkfist,  The Patient, Parabola, Jambi, The Pot, Crawl Away, 4 Degrees

– Alright, hopefully I included enough in there to satisfy most people. Obviously I’d love to just add every song, but in that case this article would be worthless.

Tool - AenimaBest Album: Ænima

– Well for one, in the “Best Songs” category what I really want to do is just list every song from Tool’s genius sophomore release. Stinkfist, Eulogy, H, Forty-Six & 2, Jimmy, Pushit (my favorite), Ænima, and Third Eye? It’s a masterpiece from start to finish. Not saying that other Tool releases aren’t. Just saying that to my ears there’s a hint of something extra special in this one.

Worst Song: Hooker With A Penis

– This one mostly goes to personal preference. Is it because I dislike hearing Keenan yell the phrase, “POINT YOUR FUCKING FINGER UP YOUR AAAAAAASS.” Not necessarily. I just haven’t ever been able to pick out the same thought-provocation as with other songs. It’s an angry song, as are many Tool songs, especially in the earlier era, but what can I say… It’s just a bit too far outside of my musical taste. That’s it.

Most Underrated Songs: Jimmy, Intension

– When do you hear people say, “I love the song, Jimmy?” Yeah. Probably not too often. Not saying there aren’t other underrated Tool songs. Just saying it’s on the top of the list. Same with Intension.

Most Inspirational Songs: Schism, Sober, Ænima, Third Eye

Tool - Schism
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATsrCNJhic4

– In this article (Feature: Metallica, Rage Against the Machine, Korn, Mastadon, Gojira, and More Talk Tool), members of various bands discuss how they came across Tool and how the band has inspired them. What I found is that the majority of the musicians first heard the song Sober or sawthe music video on TV. It also can’t be argued very well that Schism isn’t one of the most monumental Tool songs of all time. If someone doesn’t know who Tool is, chances are they’ve heard Schism playing at least once (even if they didn’t realize it). , Ænima, perfectly. If you haven’t already, go to YouTube and watch Tool perform Third Eye, preferably as the intro to their set. Trust me… It’s truly amazing. Anyone who has seen that in person is extremely lucky.

Best Song Live: Rosetta Stoned

– First off, what you should know is that I haven’t been lucky enough to even see Tool in concert! How do I survive, you ask? Well it’s pretty tough. I am still a young music listener and only came to know Tool 4 or 5 years ago. Within that time Tool has undergone fairly large breaks in touring, and when they have played showed, it has been in pretty select locations, like in Australia for example.

What I have done is watched portions of concerts on YouTube. Is it really possible to judge which songs are best at a concert? Absolutely not. Tool shows are more than just shows. People have compared them to religious pilgrimages. It’s pretty obvious you don’t just walk out of a Tool show the same person as when you entered. I have come to the conclusion of Rosetta Stoned because it is such a long, epic, dynamic track (which Tool song isn’t?). I guess in a sense, if I ever do see Tool, it is one of the songs I hope to see performed the most.

Tool - Live

Once again, I hate classifying music like that. I find myself wanting to fill up every category and cringing over the fact that some songs are left out. So remember, this is merely for the purpose of writing an article about Tool. Remember to leave your own opinions in the comments section. And PLEASE, all I can ask is that you’d be respectful. Also, a “Part II” for this post will be up shortly in which I’ll list bands I currently follow that have been strongly influenced by Tool.

Music doesn’t have to be an argument. Make it an opportunity for people to come together rather than to simply spread hate and divide fans of the same movement right down the middle.

For more info…

Website – http://www.toolband.com/

Tool Shed – http://toolshed.down.net/

Wikipedia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tool_band

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/ToolMusic

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Tool

Last.FM – http://www.last.fm/music/Tool

Leave a comment